Electron Microscope Image

Materials Science Ph.D. Program

Participating Campuses

The Montana Materials Science Ph.D. Program was developed to offer student the very best of three campuses within the Montana University System: Montana State University (Bozeman), Montana Technological University (Butte) and the University of Montana (Missoula). MSU and MTU are accepting applications for the 2020-2021 academic year; the University of Montana is not accepting applications.

The program includes the departments, faculty, courses and research infrastructure of the campuses of Montana State University and Montana Tech. Diversity is a strength of the Program as it is built upon the foundations and successes of multiple departments at the participating universities, each have proven track records of innovation, advanced research and graduate placement.

Research specialties are focused in four areas:

  • Biomaterials
  • Electronic, photonic and magnetic materials
  • Environmental materials
  • Materials for energy storage, conversion and conservation
  • Materials synthesis, processing and fabrication

The curriculum integrates a broad range of physical science and engineering disciplines with an even broader range of applications, from health and medicine to nanotechnology to energy, environment and natural resources.

Montana Technological University

Entrance to Montana Tech campus

Originally founded as the Montana School of Mines in 1900, Montana Tech is now a national leader in engineering & materials science education. Learn more about Montana Tech.

Montana State University

Aerial view of Montana State University campus

Montana State University is among the top public research universities in the nation. Researchers at Montana State sustain an international reputation for scholarship while maintaining a tradition of one-on-one mentoring. Read more about MSU.